Yasmeen Lari wins 2023 RIBA Royal Gold Medal

RIBA President Simon Alford said of Lari, "An inspirational figure, she moved from a large practice centred on the needs of international clients to focussing solely on humanitarian causes. Lari’s mission during her ‘second’ career has empowered the people of Pakistan through architecture, engaging users in design and production. She has shown us how architecture changes lives for the better."

The MIT Press is proud to publish Yasmeen Lari: Architecture for the Future this May.

Design in Motion is longlisted for the 2023 Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards

Design in Motion by Laura Frahm is among the 20 longlisted titles for the 38th edition of the Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards, the UK’s leading
prize celebrating excellence in photography and moving image publishing.

MIT Press publications win 2023 PROSE awards

Six MIT Press titles are honored by the Association of American Publishers for their extraordinary merit.

Ainissa Ramirez

Ainissa Ramirez named 2022 AAAS Fellow

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has elected more than 500 scientists, engineers and innovators from around the world and across all disciplines to the 2022 class of AAAS Fellows, one of the most distinguished honors within the scientific community.

Ainissa Ramirez

Paper Graveyards wins Frank Jewett Mather award

Granted by the College Art Association, the Frank Jewett Mather Award honors significant art criticism that has appeared in publication.

Elizabeth Tunstall smiling at a podium

Elizabeth Tunstall wins Sir Misha Black Medal

The Sir Misha Black Medal for Distinguished Services to Design Education for 2022 has been awarded to Professor Elizabeth Tunstall, author of Decolonizing Design.

Elizabeth Tunstall smiling at a podium

Featured Award-winning Titles

Recent Awards

Where Futures Converge

Robert Buderi
2023 New England Society Book Awards Finalist in the Nonfiction Category

Work without Jobs

by Ravin Jesuthasan and John W. Boudreau
Best New Management Books for 2023, Thinkers50

Carbon Queen

Maia Weinstock
Longlisted for the Prize for Excellence in Science Books in the Young Adult Science Book category, AAAS/Subaru, 2023

Shortlisted for the Rossiter Prize

Microprediction: Building an Open AI Network

Peter Cotton
2023 Eric Hoffer Book Award Category Finalist
2023  ASLE Creative Writing Book Award finalist

A World in a Shell: Snail Stories for a Time of Extinctions

Thom van Dooren
2023 Nautilus Book Award Winner

Design in Motion

Laura Frahm
Longlisted for the 2023 Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards

Natura Urbana

Matthew Gandy
Winner, John Brickerhoff Jackson Book Prize, 2023

The Polyhedrists

Noam Andrews
Winner of the Most Beautiful Swiss Books, 2022
Bronze Medal, The Most Beautiful Books in the World, 2022
Bronze Medal, Best Book Design from all over the World competition, 2023

Inclusion on Purpose

Ruchika Tulshyan
Silver Axiom medal, Women / BIPOC in Business category, 2023

The Digital Multinational

Satish Nambisan and Yadong Luo
Gold Axiom medal, International Business / Globalization category, 2023

There's Nothing Micro about a Billion Women

Mary Ellen Iskenderian
Gold Axiom medal, Philanthropy / Nonprofit / Sustainability category, 2023

Redesigning Work

Lynda Gratton
Bronze Axiom medal, Business Disruption / Reinvention category, 2023

The Smart Mission

Edward J. Hoffman, Matthew Kohut and Laurence Prusak
Bronze Axiom medal, Business Intelligence / Innovation category, 2023

Sex Dolls at Sea

Bo Ruberg
Winner of the Anne Friedberg Innovative Scholarship Award, SCMS, 2023

Cloud Empires

Vili Lehdonvirta
Finalist for the PROSE award, business, finance, and management category, 2023

Semantics as Science

Richard K. Larson
Finalist for the PROSE award, language and linguistics category, 2023


Sheila R. Foster and Christian Iaione
Winner of the PROSE award, architecture and planning category, 2023

The Nexus

Julio Mario Ottino with Bruce Mau
Winner of the PROSE award, engineering and technology category, 2023

Language vs. Reality

N. J. Enfield
Winner of the PROSE award, language and linguistics category, 2023

The Neurocognitive Theory of Dreaming

G. William Domhoff
Winner of the PROSE award, clinical psychology and psychiatry category, 2023

Schools and Screens

Victoria Cain
Finalist for the Media Ecology Association Book Awards, 2022

Paper Graveyards

Eduardo Cadava
Winner of the Frank Jewett Mather Award, College Art Association, 2023

The Curie Society

Heather Einhorn, Adam Staffaroni and Janet Harvey
Texas Maverick Graphic Novels Reading List, 2023

Power On!

Jean J. Ryoo and Jane Margolis
Texas Maverick Graphic Novels Reading List, 2023


Jillian Scudder
Finalist for the Prize for Excellence in Science Books in the Young Adult Science Book category, AAAS/Subaru, 2023
Copublished with ICON Books